First Trimester Must Haves!

Pregnancy

Hey hey, everyone! Today’s topic is again, all about that long (and sometimes miserable) 14 weeks! Only this post could just make the first trimester a little easier for you ladies looking forward to babies in the future! 

I feel very blessed to have been able to experience, in my opinion, a very healthy, misery free first trimester. I give full credit to the essentials I’m going to talk about below so I’ll just get right into it!

1. PRENATAL VITAMINS– For obvious reasons! Folic acid & Iron are two of the most essential vitamins you need. Folic acid helps baby’s brain & spinal cord development. This is especially important prior to conceiving, so if you plan to get pregnant, start taking those prenatals!! Iron will help prevent anemia. Your body needs iron to make extra blood for your baby & helps move oxygen through your body & to baby’s. Iron deficiencies can leave you feeling fatigue, one of the most common symptoms of early pregnancy. IMPORTANT!! Prenatal gummies DO NOT contain iron. If you choose to take a gummy vitamin, take an iron supplement on top of that!! Side Note** Iron often results in nausea. Take your prenatal after eating your biggest meal of the day. I prefer after dinner 🙂 

2. PINK STORK TEA – There isn’t much to say about this product except that it did wonders for me! Made with organic ginger, black tea leaves & it’s caffeine free! Thanks to a cup of this in the morning, I did not get sick once in my first trimester 🙂 This line also has a tea for preparing for labor, & milk supply so you can bet I’ll be adding those to my regimen! 

3.HONEY – Pregnancy suppresses your immune system, leaving mama-to-be more susceptible to all kinds of viruses & infections. I developed a horrible three month upper respiratory infection shortly before finding out I was pregnant. Several doctors visits, antibiotics & inhalers later, my doctor recommended honey. Honey is a natural anti-inflammatory. The ONLY thing that worked to relieve swelling in my throat & lymphnodes. A couple spoonfuls in hot water or tea & I was back to my healthy self in a few short days!! 

4. Vitamin E Oil -Unfortunately, stretch marks are hereditary. HOWEVER! I am not convinced that there isn’t anything you can do to minimize them. “If it’s in your genes, you’re gonna get them & there’s nothing you can do about it.” So I’ve been told a million times by my mama peers.*Eye roll* Vitamin E oil promotes elasticity in your skin. I use this religiously in my night routine & have yet to see even the faintest stretch mark. Now I know they may come closer to my due date but I remain optimistic! There are so many products out there devoloped to “prevent” & minimize stretch marks that actually do work in one way or another. I fully believe in vitamin E oil to tackle them before they’re seen! 

5. Acne Spot Treatment – Hormonal changes during pregnancy throws your skin out of whack!! Blemishes immediately made an appearance early into my pregnancy. For most, your hormones will balance out later on & your skin will probably go back to what “normal” was for you pre-pregnancy. That isn’t always the case, though. My go-to throughout my entire pregnancy so far has been my Arbonne Intensive Acne Spot treatment. I have THE most sensitive skin & whole heartedly believe in this brand because it’s the only line that helped me since puberty! I’m not saying this is the ONLY product for everyone, but your skin WILL change & it’s important to find what works for you during those breakout days! Trust me, you will see more of them when growing a precious human inside of you. 

I hope these essentials can help a future mama-to-be out the way they’ve helped me!   The dreaded first trimester doesn’t have to be as miserable as many claim it to be. Discovering these products early helped to make my pregnancy that much more enjoyable from the very beginning!

Leave a Reply

